mustERkennung

mustERkennung … stuff about patterns and their recognition

electronic ink

with 2 comments

Recently I went to the local Thalia store to ask for the Sony Reader PRS-505. Somehow I’m interested in this gadget, even for €300.  But there are some limiting issues:

  • I do not own the content. Currently I’m reselling books and thus could re-finance my book budget. Not possible with eBooks.
  • eBooks are in no way cheaper than the real ones. This statement goes for the new ones, I know that classics are available for free, which makes the Sony reader more interesting than the amazon alternativ.
  • It is expansive, and I’m not sure that I’ll use it that much.
  • Books I’m interested in will not be available in time.

The pro’s on my list are the flexibility to add any type of text based file (PDF, RTF, TXT, etc.)  and have them and my favorite books and some others with me on journeys. And I could use it a adress book, for analogue, paper based communication. But I’ll not use it sitting in public, my favorite way of reading. It may be helpful during nightly reads because there is only one flat page to look at. It will help me to reduce space blocked by all the new books. Hmm.

I think I’ll wait for the new version, with editing capabilities. And maybe I’m willing to use my winter bonus. Cheers!

Written by Rayk Fenske

March 22, 2009 at 1:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Did you tried the eBook reader by yourself? I was about to buy the previous model 1 1/2 years ago but it was slow turning the pages and it did not render pdf’s very well, so I did not.

    Is the new one faster? Does it show A4 (or legal) sized pdf’s nicely ?

    Oliver

    March 24, 2009 at 8:19 am

  2. I let her – the sales woman – flip the pages, that works fine. Full A4 image looked way too small to be read directly. I think it’s possible but will hurt after some pages. Rendering was Ok when increasing font size. But there are only 3 stages: small, normal, and large. The new one offers free scaling (when remembering right). Also the screen is bigger on the new one. Seems to be a new option to look at.

    Rayk

    March 24, 2009 at 8:33 am


Leave a Reply

